Updates: Moving on, meet and greets, lost and found

I haven’t posted in ages.  We have to move in under 6 weeks to an unknown location, preferably in the Southeastern or Mid-Atlantic regions.  We had to make a decision about renewing our lease back in February.  It expires the day after my husband’s grad school graduation and we were not otherwise permitted to extend.  My work needed a decision about the 2013-2014 school year back in March.  Since we don’t have a mortgage, kids, etc. now seemed like a good time to relocate.

IMG_4273

While we love our current town, we don’t think we’re meant to settle down here.  Coming from a few miles outside of a rapidly growing farm town with one liquor license, no stop light, one fast food restaurant since 1990 (Subway), where bank tellers and the UPS guy knew who I was dating and when I was getting married through the grapevine, I’m not quite sure why Clemson is considered a small town.  That said, we’re just as far from major shopping here as we were back in PA.

I get some crazy cabin fever if I haven’t seen hills or corn for a few months.  (You might be a country girl when you alter your commute to see sheep and cows.)  My husband is convinced that none of the farms around here are farms because they mostly have livestock and not corn.  When we visit home in the summer – which, sadly, we don’t get to do this year – both the dogs and humans hang their heads out the window once off the highway to take in the sweet smells.

We’ll probably end up living in a town or suburbs until we buy a house, but would love to end up in a rural area outside of a small to medium city.  We decided to take a leap of faith and it sure has been a leap.  I don’t know where this fall will take us, but I’m scared and excited to find out.

I was seriously spoiled by growing up with this view.  Walking up that hill was another story - it's a lot more steep than it looks.

I was seriously spoiled by growing up with this view. Walking up that hill was another story – it’s a lot more steep than it looks.  I could also live without the extremely humid summers and freezing winters.

I might be biased, but I'm convinced I grew up with one of the most gorgeous views in Central PA.  Flat land and buildings are boring and there is nothing like playing pothole dodging or "Find the Mason-Dixon line" on a poorly paved, winding PA road with no traffic.

I might be biased, but I’m convinced I grew up with one of the most gorgeous views in Central PA. Flat land and buildings are boring and there is nothing like playing pothole dodging or “Find the Mason-Dixon line” on a poorly paved, winding PA road with no traffic.

We’ve gotten a few calls about Edwin recently – he had a meet and greet Sunday and another is scheduled for tomorrow.  It would be most ideal for him to find his forever home home before we move rather than being shuffled around, but we’ll wait and see what happens.

Eddie likes to clean the lake.  Logs, giant branches, saplings now mostly covered by water - if it has bark, he will remove it.

Eddie likes to clean the lake. Logs, giant branches, saplings now mostly covered by water – if it has bark, he will remove it.

If you follow us on Facebook, you may have seen this picture already.  My sister’s boyfriend’s cat escaped off his balcony Saturday night.  If you have friends in Northern Virginia (D.C. metro area) please share her picture.  She is an indoor-only cat and unfortunately, his other cat is the one with the microchip.  They have been hanging signs, contacting shelters and rescues, going out searching, and put out a humane trap.  Unfortunately, people are taking down their lost cat signs in the next neighborhood over.

Molly

Today, we finally got close enough to take a picture of Pretty Girl, a stray who has been in our neighborhood since November.  She hasn’t gotten pregnant so she might be spayed, but I would bet she has heartworms by now.  We blew our shot at catching her months ago, but since then she has been hanging out down the road where people have been feeding her scraps.  The property manager where she has been hanging out has called Animal Control multiple times without result. When she showed up this morning, she was less skittish than usual. We had to work hard to shoo her away so a neighbor could back out of the driveway when she used to run at the sight of a car or the moment a person approached, but we managed to get some good quality kibble in her first.

???????????????????????????????

If we can manage to catch her or get our hands on a humane trap, we need to figure out a plan for her first.  I’m not sure whether Crossroads would have room currently – they are up to 40+ dogs, 20+ cats, and several horses and I believe there may still be some litters doing their quarantine period.  We always seem to find animals right after they double, triple, or quadruple the number of animals in the rescue.  Not every foster home is up for rehabbing a now-feral dog and we won’t be able to take her in ourselves since we’re moving.

???????????????????????????????

About Couches for Breakfast

Ventures into fosterhood
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Updates: Moving on, meet and greets, lost and found

  1. Good luck with your move and decisions! We’re in the process of moving and it isn’t easy but it is exciting! My parents and cousins live near DC, I’ll ask them to share the picture of the kitty…I hope she comes home safe soon!

  2. Good luck with your move! I grew up with similar views to yours and while I love the peace and quiet I also love to be close to lots of restaurants and entertainment so I’m torn about which is best.

    And, I hope the kitty comes back home and that Pretty Girl is caught and finds her way into a good rescue!

    • I love being near restaurants here, but really I’m happy as long as I have some good homemade family restaurant, diner or pizzeria food – not the stuff that comes out of a bag and goes into the microwave at chains!

  3. Morgan says:

    Gosh, you’ve got a lot going on! Good luck with everything, especially Eddie. It would be fantastic if an awesome family came along for him!

    • Thanks, I would love for him to have a home. I know he’s not the right dog for us long-term since we would like to continue fostering and we’re not in a place to adopt a second dog. Constantly bringing in new dogs wouldn’t be fair to him.

  4. Wow! Moving! Any consideration of moving to the midwest???

  5. I live in rural area between 2 cities Buffalo NY 35 miles and Rochester Ny 40 miles. I moved here from Philidalphia Pa.I am originally from Rochester Ny. I will never live in a city again. I am a country girl lol. But near enough a city if I want to go out or shop.

  6. Pingback: Happy Independence Day! | Couches for Breakfast

  7. Delft says:

    Good luck moving!
    Yes, those views of rolling fields are some of the most beautiful!

Leave a Reply

