Steam Show

Since our move back to Central PA, we’ve kept ourselves busy with all things rural.  Corn festivals, antiquing, hiking, eating the most delicious ice cream ever at a local creamery (this stuff surpasses Blue Bell and Hershey’s – quite a feat in my book!) and my hunt for the area’s best biscuits and gravy, homefries and coffee combo.  My husband keeps asking if I can be any more of a bumpkin (answer: yes).  We’ve also been making the occasional visit to places and events we’ve missed.

My father-in-law started a perfectly Americana family tradition: going to the annual steam show in a rural corner of Baltimore County.  He no longer lives in the area, but if he is in town at the same time as the steam show, he goes with whichever of his children are in the area.  I got to go once way back in high school, and a few years ago my husband got all of our vintage American-made cast iron skillets there.  While he wasn’t in town this year, we decided we were close enough to attend and invited my parents to go because it’s right up my dad’s alley.

The steam show has all things great: antique tractors and trains, antique cars, a flea market, Old Bay and vinegar fries, cheap comfort food, and funnel cake – which, as usual, I pointed out just before lunchtime and we forgot to have some before leaving.

As this picture I nabbed from my dad of his tractor shows, Nellie likes old tractors.  It's an early 1950s Ferguson TO-20.  Not Massey, just Ferguson.

Nellie likes Dad’s antique tractor. It’s an early 1950s Ferguson TO-20. Not Massey, just Ferguson.

I may or may not care how obvious when I gawk at passing antique cars while driving.

I may or may not care how obvious I am when I gawk at passing antique cars while driving.

IMG_5838

IMG_5844

IMG_5849

???????????????????????????????

All the signs said "no dogs," but we spotted quite a few!

All the signs said “no dogs,” but we spotted quite a few!

IMG_5864

IMG_5846

I cannot for the life of me notice whether a John Deere is old or new, except for realizing that something was not right with this logo.

I cannot for the life of me notice whether a John Deere is old or new, except for realizing that something was not right with this logo.

IMG_5870

IMG_5873

IMG_5890

The hounds (or non-hounds?) didn’t get to go to the steam show, but Gambit did get some flea market goodies!  A collapsible baby gate like Nellie has, and the base for his new toy box.  What do you think his new toy box is made from?

About Couches for Breakfast

Ventures into fosterhood
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Steam Show

  1. Pingback: Gambit’s new toy box | Couches for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

