Tummy Trouble Treats

Whenever a dog is sick, I never seem to have any canned pumpkin or sweet potato on hand.  Okay, so we picked up sweet potato once, but it turned out to be in syrup which is a no go.  Last time Gambit was on a bland diet, I finally managed to pick up a can of pumpkin purée.

The problem?

It’s difficult to use up an entire can of pumpkin when your dog is only on a bland diet for a few days.  Not wanting to waste it, I used the leftovers to make these treats for Gambit.

IMG_6163

The recipe?  Mix 100% pumpkin puree with equal parts water, pour into an ice cube tray and freeze.  Serve one with a meal or as a treat.  Purebred shelter mutt approved, with great enthusiasm.

Now we will always have treats on hand for tummy troubles – whether it’s nausea or potty problems!

…or at least we will until I decide a few more times that frozen pumpkin treats are perfect for fall.

About Couches for Breakfast

Ventures into fosterhood
This entry was posted in Gambit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tummy Trouble Treats

  1. Good idea! I’ve had a can of pumpkin in the cabinet forever(initially bought for the dogs) and I got a major sweet tooth this week so I decided to put it to use. I made flourless chocolate pumpkin cake and pumpkin spice muffins, yum!

  2. I grow pumkins every year and cut in half and bake then scoop out pumpkin and into freezer bags and store in freezer . I also have to make pumpkin cookies. This year Midnight decided she wanted her pumpkin freshly pick so she did and I had to get it away from her because to much pumpkin can ‘t be good. I always grow them also to take 2 for my nephew for Holloween.

  3. writetowag says:

    What a wonderful idea…Thank you for sharing!!!!

  4. Our canned pumpkin supply comes and goes. Sometimes there’s a can around (of course when it isn’t needed), other times… there’s not a can to be found.

  5. Pingback: Frozen Treats | Couches for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

