Home project: crochet wreath

The pups and I did not love this winter’s well-below-average temperatures.

Admittedly, Gambit enjoyed that it meant I got a huge, warm, fluffy trapper hat for walks.  He promptly decided it was his and gave me the saddest puppy dog eyes any time he wanted to wear it.  He also went nuts over the ten billion sweaters his grandma gifted him.

What can I say?  This weirdo loves warmth and clothes.

IMG_8718

Spring is a diva when it comes to cold temperatures.  She has a thin coat and virtually no undercoat (bonus: she barely sheds!) but can’t stand clothes.  She does, however, LOVE snow.

IMG_8774

Both this winter and last, I had an ongoing conundrum.  Wreaths.  As a not-too-creative person, what do you do between easy evergreen swags for Christmas and mid-spring floral wreaths?  Particularly when you search for ideas, but it’s 2015 and you’re just not into wrapped wreaths, wooden monograms, or potato sacks.  Just give me some early country antiques and quality local crafters’ products, please.

This winter, an image finally popped into my head.  A grapevine wreath with a swath of crocheted snowflakes in white and icy shades of light blue, in different patterns and sizes.  Realizing those would be a bit difficult to attach to a grapevine wreath while maintaining their shape, I decided to go with flowers instead.  Unlike snowflakes, flowers could also hopefully get me through early spring!

I stuck with cotton yarn in hopes that it would dry out a bit better on rainy days than acrylic.  Because of this, I ended up with fewer shades than originally planned.

After scouring Ravelry and Pinterest, I found a number of flower patterns to try:

Wagon Wheel Stitch Flower by B.Hooked.  I prefer written patterns, but I recommend using the video tutorial for this one.

IMG_8625 IMG_8628 IMG_8601

Crocodile Stitch Flower, also by B.Hooked.

IMG_8599

Double Crochet Flower by Crochet Rochelle.

IMG_8603

Flower Accessory/Trim by Thomasina Cummings Designs.

IMG_8636

Adaptable Crochet Rose by My Giant Strawberry.  This one was my favorite to make and the most realistic.  The petals should be slightly more even, except that I missed one and decided it was still pretty enough to stick with what I had.

IMG_8596 IMG_8620 IMG_8621

All in all, the finished product was different than the original picture in my head, but I love it just as much as the initial idea.

???????????????????????????????

The snow is finally melting and my wreath is still holding up.

How do you decorate your door in those awkward months between Christmas and mid-Spring?

About Couches for Breakfast

Ventures into fosterhood
This entry was posted in Gambit, Spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Home project: crochet wreath

  1. Carol says:

    That’s lovely!

Leave a comment